Wasp Life-Cycle

Wasps have a life cycle consisting of four stages:
1. egg,
2. larva,
3. pupa,
4. and adult.

This is called “complete metamorphosis”. The entire process from egg to adult takes several weeks to finish.

Wasp colonies have a distinct caste system. It includes:
1. Queens – fertile females which lay eggs,
2. Drones – fertile males which mate with the future queens (by the way, the males do not have stingers and they are born from unfertilized eggs),
3. Workers – infertile females which do the labor of the nest and defend the colony with their stings.